Lagonda Trophy, 25th & 26th May - 2022


The Lagonda Trophy is a World ranking amateur event played over 72 holes at the historic Old Course at the beautiful Gog Magog Golf Club near Cambridge, Cambridgeshire. Founded in 1975 by Clive Smith, previous winners include Ryder Cup players David Gilford, Lee Westwood, Luke Donald and Andy Sullivan.

This will be the forty-seventh time that the event will be played and, being one of the country’s leading low handicap amateurs, you are cordially invited to compete.


Terms of the compeTition

The ballot for entries will be made on the closing date, based on a players WHS handicap at the time entries close. If two players have the same exact handicap then time of entry will be used for the order in the ballot.

Unfortunately handicaps are no longer allowed to be shown publicly due to the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).
Anyone wishing to be informed of what the likely handicap cut off will be in the ballot should contact Neil Hughes, the Tournament Director, at neil.hughes140@gmail.com.
Score boards will be located around the course and full hole by hole live scoring will be available via the website.

The Gog Magog Golf Club is ranked as the best 36 hole facility in East Anglia, the Old course provides a rewarding challenge for better players with a CSS of 71, one more than par. The fast running greens and risk reward holes offer many birdie opportunities demonstrated admirably by David Hague in 2017 with two final rounds of 62 and 63 without a or a bogey or a five on the card. Have a look at the course here.

Players in the Lagonda trophy have full use of the club facilities including one of the largest practice facilities in the UK where players can hit every club in their bag with their own practice balls or range balls if they do not want to collect them up. Two putting greens and a short game area provide a great facility for players to polish their game.


The Lagonda is a great opportunity to join a winners list that includes many Ryder Cup players, tour winners and two world number ones (past winners)